伙伴

Jim Baunach

Jim的执业重点是软件和计算机相关事务的专利采购、申请、许可和战略性知识产权组合管理。他的专长包括基于网络和移动系统、人工智能、云计算、增强和虚拟现实、数字视频和无线通信系统。Jim已经成功地为客户处理了数百件美国和国际专利事务,客户范围从小型初创企业到大型全球企业。他拥有波特兰大学计算机科学学士学位(1996年),并拥有威拉米特大学法学院的法学博士学位(2000年),他在该校获得了专利法和政策方面的院长高级论文奖。

Jim的技术经验包括在Tektronix, Inc.的软件工程部门工作,以及在NEC, Inc.的子公司担任软件工程师。在获得法律学位后,Jim还在美国空军服役四年,担任通信官员和网络设计工程师。后来,他在中国北京担任了两年的美国专利律师,积累了国际经验。

Jim在电子和软件相关技术的专利申请的起草和申请、开发客户的内部专利项目以及提供非侵权、无效和可专利性意见方面拥有多年的经验。他还擅长知识产权战略,并为客户的国内和国际知识产权组合的战略发展提供咨询。

威拉米特大学法学院----2000年法学博士
波特兰大学----计算机科学----1996年学士。

吉姆是华盛顿州律师协会的会员,并在美国专利和商标局注册执业。他是华盛顿州专利法协会、美国知识产权法协会和美国律师协会的成员。

Jim曾担任华盛顿州律师协会知识产权法分会主席。他曾担任华盛顿州律师协会知识产权分会举办的"美国发明法:从业人员、发明人和企业的实用建议"CLE课程的联合主席。华盛顿州律师协会知识产权分会举办的"美国发明法案:对从业人员、发明人和企业的实用建议"课程的共同主席。


录像

LinkedIn信息源

榮譽與獎項

院长专利法与政策高级论文奖。

Partner

Jim Baunach

Jim's practice focuses on patent procurement, prosecution, licensing, and strategic intellectual property portfolio management in software and computer-related matters. Examples of expertise include web-based and mobile systems, artificial intelligence, cloud computing, augmented and virtual reality, digital video, and wireless communication systems. Jim has successfully handled hundreds of U.S. and international patent matters for clients ranging from small startups to large global corporations. He received a B.S. in Computer Science from the University of Portland (1996) and holds a J.D. from Willamette University College of Law (2000), where he received the Dean's High Paper Award in Patent Law and Policy.

Jim’s technical experience includes working in the software engineering department at Tektronix, Inc. and as a software engineer at a subsidiary of NEC, Inc. After receiving his law degree, Jim also served four years in the U.S. Air Force as a communications officer and network design engineer. He later gained international experience by spending two years working as a U.S. patent attorney in Beijing, China.

Jim has many years of experience in drafting and prosecuting patent applications in electrical and software-related technologies, developing clients’ internal patent programs, and providing non-infringement, invalidity, and patentability opinions. He also specializes in IP strategies and counseling clients on their domestic and international intellectual property portfolios' strategic development.

Willamette University College of Law - J.D. 2000
University of Portland - Computer Science - B.S. 1996

Jim is admitted to the Washington State Bar and is registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He is a member of the Washington State Patent Law Association, American Intellectual Property Law Association, and the American Bar Association.

Jim served as Chair of the Washington State Bar Association Intellectual Property Law Section. He was Co-Chair of the CLE course The America Invents Act: Practical Advice for Practitioners, Inventors & Businesses presented by the Washington State Bar Association IP Section.


Videos

Honors & Awards

Dean’s High Paper Award in Patent Law and Policy