协理

Heather N. Ewing, Ph.D.

Heather的执业重点是化学、生物技术和制药事务的专利准备和申请。Heather在华盛顿大学获得法学博士学位(2020年),她曾是创业法律诊所的学生执业者,也是华盛顿公益专利网络的实习生。她在华盛顿大学获得有机和生物化学博士学位(2017年),并在蒙大拿大学获得化学学士学位(荣誉)(2010年)。

Heather在Seed IP的法律经验包括专利申请的起草和申请,以及进行专利性、景观和自由操作检索。作为创业法律诊所的学生律师,Heather主持了包括发明披露和知识产权咨询在内的客户会议,为CoMotion(华盛顿大学的协同创新中心)准备了专利状况分析,此外还起草了专利、商标、商业秘密和版权问题分析备忘录。此外,她还在比尔及梅林达-盖茨基金会做了一个暑期法律研究员,为法律团队提供交易和知识产权法方面的支持。

在加入Seed IP之前,Heather在华盛顿大学完成了研究生学业,在那里她设计并合成了用于捕获和识别蛋白质的小分子探针,协助将基于荧光的酶测定法调整为高通量筛选格式,并研究了放射性标记的蛋白质在体内的清除、生物分布和降解。她还在密苏拉的Promiliad生物制药公司担任实验室技术员,在那里,她使用从天然产品中提取的起始材料作为合成候选药物的构件。

华盛顿大学法学院
J.D.2020

华盛顿大学
有机与生物化学
2017年博士。

University of Montana
Chemistry
B.S. 2010 (with Honors)

Heather是华盛顿州律师协会的会员,也是华盛顿州专利法协会(WSPLA)和华盛顿州生命科学协会的会员。她是华盛顿州专利法协会(WSPLA)和华盛顿生命科学协会的成员。

录像

LinkedIn信息源

榮譽與獎項

Heather N. Ewing, Ph.D.

Associate

Background

Heather focuses her practice on patent preparation and prosecution of chemical, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical matters. Heather received her J.D. from the University of Washington (2020) where she was a student practitioner for the Entrepreneurial Law Clinic and an intern for the Washington Pro Bono Patent Network. She received a Ph.D. in Organic and Biological Chemistry from University of Washington (2017), and a B.S. (with Honors) in Chemistry from University of Montana (2010).

Education

University of Washington School of Law
J.D. 2020

University of Washington
Organic and Biological Chemistry
Ph.D. 2017

University of Montana
Chemistry
B.S. 2010 (with Honors)

Experience

Heather’s legal experience at Seed IP includes drafting and prosecution of patent applications, as well as conducting patentability, landscape, and freedom to operate searches. As a student practitioner at the Entrepreneurial Law Clinic, Heather conducted client meetings including invention disclosures and IP counseling, prepared patent landscape analyses for CoMotion (the University of Washington’s collaborative innovation hub), in addition to drafting memoranda analyzing patent, trademark, trade secret, and copyright issues. Additionally she spent a summer as a legal fellow at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, where she supported the legal team on transactional and intellectual property law matters.

Prior to joining Seed IP, Heather completed graduate school at the University of Washington, where she designed and synthesized small molecule probes for the capture and identification of proteins, aided in adapting a fluorescence-based enzyme assay to a high-throughput screening format, and investigated the clearance, bio-distribution, and degradation of radio-labeled proteins in vivo. She also served as a laboratory technician at Promiliad BioPharma, Inc. in Missoula, MT where she used natural product derived starting materials as building blocks for the synthesis of drug candidates.

Affiliations

Heather is admitted to the Washington State Bar. She is a member of the Washington State Patent Law Association (WSPLA) and Life Science Washington.

Download Full Bio